Tuesday, December 04, 2012

Shadow Children series


The Shadow Children series, written by Margaret Peterson Haddix, is a dystopian young adult series. The titles include:

Among the hidden
Among the imposters
Among the betrayed
Among the brave
Among the enemy
Among the free

The series starts with Among the Hidden. Luke is an illegal second child. His parents have kept him hidden since he was born. He is not allowed to go outside or to school. He must stay home alone while his older brother goes to school and his parents work. He views his world carefully through window blinds, until he notices something he shouldn't at a neighbors house. Soon he learns there are many illegal second children and an underground resistance.

The following books in the series follow the stories of Luke and other second children as they fight for their freedom. I liked this story and read through it pretty quickly. There was one standout paragraph that made me think. I can't remember which book it was in, but Luke asks an adult character why they let things get so bad and why they don't fight back. He tells Luke that the adults gradually let things change for the worse and are now afraid to fight. They have messed things up so badly that it is up to the children to save them.

Book ratings: 4 stars

The books I select for review are books which I personally select from my local library. I do not receive any reimbursement from authors or publishers or free books. I do provide links to Amazon as a convenience to the readers of this blog. I do earn a small referral pittance which is not even enough to buy a soda.

1 comment:

read it said...

Wow, that sounds eerily like the debt we are passing on to future generations, with the great irony that we keep telling ourselves we are making the world a more "just" place for the next generation.